Not So Fast (literally)…Welcome to 2013

I am sure you are all going to be shocked when I say this.  I didn’t run 100 miles in December.  In fact, I didn’t even run 50.  It was a colossal failure.  I believe at the end of the month I ended up going 36.5 miles.  And despite my disappointment, this was all ok.  I did sustain some sort of minor injury after the 10 mile race and that killed a week for me.  Followed by a week of dinners out with parents, and being off of work.  I worked only 2 days out of 15, but those days quickly filled up with baking, family, celebrations, dinners and play dates.  I realize that these all sound like excuses, but there were some things to gain from this trial run. 

  1. I set a goal for myself.  Period. 
  2. I had a KILLER month.  It was fantastic to spend time with so many family members, have dinner dates and lunch dates with some amazing friends, and enjoy some time to spend with Chase! 
  3. I still really love and enjoy running.  Yes, I didn’t hit my target, but it also didn’t kill this new found joy I have discovered in running.
  4. There are more months.  In fact, we’re in a new one right now, and in two(ish) weeks, we’ll be in another one!  I can start this goal in any given month.  I will hit it, December just wasn’t my time.

I’m over it.  There are countless goals that I will set for myself in my lifetime that I will not achieve, and that’s ok.  Sometimes the journey alone is worth it. 

Onto other things, it’s a new year!  Already it is 2013 and I have made a resolution to both read and write more and I have done both.  This is going to sound like a broken record, but I do want to write more on here.  Preferably once or twice a week.  Baby steps first, and we’ll try for once a month.

So that is my not so productive, not very exciting first blog of the year.  Again, baby steps. 

Happy New Year from Beach Tink!  Bring it 2013!

Leave a Reply

